PDA

View Full Version : General New Cat- Jumps on top of cage?

guineaboo
07-08-15, 05:53 pm
Hello! I just got a new cat today. He hasnt attempted to hurt the pigs yet but he does watch them. He's never housed with guinea pigs so he's curious to what they are. He actually got scared by one of them as well. He has to be in my room along with the guinea pigs for the first couple of weeks. However, twice now he's jumped on the top of the guinea pig cage and gently batted his paw around. Im worried about the top collapsing in on the pigs and im also worried that he'll hurt them. Any suggestions on what i can do to the cage to keep the pigs safe?

just8be8free
07-08-15, 05:55 pm
I'm no expert but I would make sure that the cats paw doesn't fit in the space between the bars (if that's the sort of cage you have).

wombats
07-08-15, 06:05 pm
What kind of top do you have? I use a wire closet shelf with grids along the back and it supports the weight of a very fat cat just fine. We have three cats in total and we've had no trouble, even though they were curious to start with too. I wouldn't be too worried if I were you...just make sure the top is nice and secure to wherever it's hinged (zip ties may help) and it should be fine

guineaboo
07-08-15, 07:29 pm
What kind of top do you have? I use a wire closet shelf with grids along the back and it supports the weight of a very fat cat just fine. We have three cats in total and we've had no trouble, even though they were curious to start with too. I wouldn't be too worried if I were you...just make sure the top is nice and secure to wherever it's hinged (zip ties may help) and it should be fine 75270 this is the cage that I have but the top doesn't fit that well it doesnt clasp in two of the 8 spots

mecole
07-08-15, 07:43 pm