Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Newbie here.... Meet Gary.

Anita Varrassi

Cavy Slave
We just adopted a piggie from Petco today. He is extremely sweet. My daughter named him Gary from the snail on spongebob.
I am reading up more on piggies now and would like to get him a better cage then the one from Petco.

Is there anyway to see around how old they are? The lady didn't know but knew he was a little older than the others as he was in his own cage. But the others didn't have his sweet personality. He loves to snuggle. <3

Attachments

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

Taylor_Mett18

Cavy Slave
Aw he's so cute!

k5mow

Cavy Slave
So cool.

Roger

PandaPiggle

Cavy Slave
Why hello Gary! There isn't any way to estimate age, although if you get him from Petco he's most likely young, probably less than a few months.

If you want to get a bigger cage, the best option is a C&C cage, made of storage Cubes and Coroplast (corrugated plastic). You can read more about them here, and either get one through the cages store (some assembly required) or build one yourself (more assembly required).

Also have you considered getting Gary a buddy? Guinea pigs are very social and seriously appreciate having a friend who speaks their language, as long as their cage is big enough for two :)

Lagertha

Cavy Slave
Hi Gary! He is so cute!!! I love his colors :D It looks like he is a chocolate agouti, buff, and white TSW (tortoiseshell with white) ! Super cute!
If he was from the pet store than he is probably no older that 6 months or so. If you have digital kitchen scales then you can weigh him! my pigs weigh around 700-900 grams and they are 7 months old so that could help at guessing his age!