Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Cage Improvement Ideas

Paul Suangate

Cavy Slave
I'm a newbie when it comes to guinea pigs and would like advice on how to improve my cage. It just looks really empty and unexciting, however I just bought a tunnel which should arrive soon. I tried giving my pigs some toys, but they never seem interested in them. I rarely see my pigs run around or popcorn.
IMG_1254.jpg
IMG_1255.jpg
IMG_1253.jpg

Piggly12

Cavy Slave
Welcome to the forum!

I know what you mean. I rarely see mine popcorn or run around either, but my Mum says she’s been woken up when they do it at 4 in the morning, and that they run around while I’m at school.

My pigs completely ignore wooden toys too, however they like to twist their heads around and chew on the side of their wooden houses (like the one below). Could you try toilet paper tubes with a slit down the side? Mine were actually interested in them and chewed off the corners, amazingly! (I cut a straight line down them so they don’t get their heads stuck - also pictured below)

Maybe try cutting holes in cardboard boxes? You can arrange them however you want, which is cool, but you need to throw them away if they soak up too much pee (however they are pretty much free so they are easily replaceable).

There are tonnes of ideas in the photos section, just click ‘photos’, then scroll down to ‘features/accessories’, or ‘hidey houses’, or ‘bunkbeds’, or ‘toys’ - there are lots of pictures...

I love your fleece and you have super cute pigs by the way!

Oh, and I just noticed there is a bit of a gap between the Midwest cage and their kitchen cage; can you push them together a bit more is that as close as they will go? (i.e. is the lip of the kitchen cage causing the gap?)

Please post a picture of the cage when the tunnel arrives!