PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a herd of princesses!

PandaPiggle
05-09-15, 08:36 pm
Hi! I'm a PhD student with a herd of princess piggies! I've been reading the forum for like a year, since before I got my first, but I'm painfully shy so I'm only just getting around to joining and posting and suchlike. All of my princesses are in the picture below, from right to left there's Penny, Bridget, Lacey, Agnes and Mirabelle. Agnes was my first piggie, adopted about a year ago at the ripe old age of 4 years. I adopted her without seeing even a picture, so when I saw her funny fur I thought she was very sick, until I realized she was a teddy! Then came Penny (about 3 years old) in June, because I knew about the importance of companionship (it's important!). I moved in March and started having a nagging feeling that Agnes was getting old, and something bad was going to happen to her, and Penny would be alone. I didn't want that and my new place was much bigger, so I adopted Bridget (born Halloween 2014), who was nice and pudgy like Agnes. Except then she produced two babies the next morning, Lacey (a ridgeback) and a boy. And after I rehomed the boy then I decided I really enjoyed five, and adopted Mirabelle (Lacey's half sister from the same boy-in-a-cage-of-many-girls accident). And then I proceeded to discover that my paranoia about Agnes's health wasn't unfounded, and in the last three weeks we've seen the vet three times... a visit for a lump that turned out to be a trichofolliculoma also led to the diagnosis of a large abdominal mass (which isn't bothering her, and given her age I'm inclined to not try surgery and just let her live out the rest of her life peacefully), and then the next week she had a corneal ulcer that was so scary the vet gave us oral meds in addition to the topical stuff, and lastly a followup for the eye. But for now I have a herd of mostly happy healthy piggles, and I wanted to say hi and thanks, because it's been a tough couple weeks and thi