PDA

View Full Version : Hi everyone, new user here from Sweden!

Konungarike
03-03-15, 05:14 pm
Hi everyone! I'm Konungarike, but you can call me King, Konung, or whatever else you'd like for short.
(That's a Swedish word, not an actual name, meaning "kingdom" that I use as a screenname online. I prefer to keep my internet and IRL activities separate.)

I live on a farm in Sweden, pretty near Stockholm in fact, with my two piggies Folke and Cappuccino! I got them last summer after having wanted guinea pigs ever since I finished the Swedish equivalent of high school. I went to a school focusing on animal care education, and I caught the piggie fever after handling the school's herd. I got my two boys directly from a breeder since they are my very first, but since getting them I have found out about shelters and rescues in my area, so I'll definitely be looking towards those in the future.

So, I am a newbie to guinea pigs, though not to pets in general! My family's had dogs and cats for as long as I've lived. I also had bunnies for over 10 years until my last bun passed away, after which I made the switch to pigs. Me and my mother also have horses! She has riding horses and I have two shetland ponies. Busy!

At the moment I'm taking extra high school level courses in order to become eligible for university studies. I'm also working part-time at an animal hospital!

Let me present my boys!

I brought both boys with me to the couch the other night since the living room was otherwise deserted. They thought it was super spooky at first, but some carrots and a hay tunnel was enough to bring them out of that funk. They're born within a few days of each other, so they're not technically brothers despite growing up together. Both are soon to be 9 months old! Time flies...