PDA

View Full Version : New to group-curious about odor contol

poppysdb
02-01-15, 08:46 am
Hello all!
I posted yesterday, but it never showed up. I'm guessing I did something wrong and it didn't go thru. I hope it doesn't show up twice. My apologies in advance if it does. We do not have any guinea pigs, but there is one for sale along with a 52" cage and some supplies. I would very much like to add this little piggy to our family, but my husband has concerns about the odor. Is odor a real challenge even with frequent cleanings? How do you all deal with it. Advice needed! Thanks.

mamaduck71
02-01-15, 09:00 am
Hi Poppy and welcome to the group. I am a newbie to the site as well as cavy ownership. We got our 1st on Jan 7. I was concerned odor as well. If you let the cage go, yes it will get stinky, but if you do your research and clean it once a week or so, you really should not smell anything. We are still test mode with bedding. Right now I'm using flat newspaper on the bottom, carefresh and then 2 layers of fleece. Been a week for that, and so far so good. I saw the post about wood pellets, might try that out as well. Due your research. Lots of good reading here:
http://www.guineapigcages.com/bedding.htm

Good luck, ask more questions if you need too, and let us know what you decided. If you get her, post pix!

pinky
02-01-15, 09:28 am