Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Hello! These are my new Skinny Pigs: Hippo and Dermis!

HeresTheSkinny

Cavy Slave
Hi everyone! I'm Stina, and my husband surprised me on Christmas with two Skinny Pigs! I'm a big fan of weird looking animals, and grew up with guinea pigs. I also had been researching getting one as a class pet (I'm a teacher), so I was very excited.

The first one, Hippo, is 3 months old, and albino. He's wary of me, but I've been hand feeding him hay while he snuggles on my lap with his brother, so he's quickly becoming a bigger fan of mine.
hippo.jpg

The second one, Dermis, is four weeks old. He's super vocal and curious.
dermis.jpg

My husband got them a smallish cage because he knew I would want to pick out something for them, so we've now ordered a C&C cage and fleece liners that will be arriving tomorrow. They've been eating a ton of hay, and I had some lettuce and parsley in the fridge, so they've been enjoying that. We're going to hit the farmer's market tomorrow and really spoil them!

I am looking for some advice, though. While we do live in California, so temperature won't normally be a problem, we've had a couple very cold nights. We have an old house with no central heat or air. So, we used a space heater last night, but it was still colder than I would like for them, considering they do not have hair. Does anyone have any advice as to how we could keep them cozy at night? I'm thinking burrow sacks- would that work?

Great to be a part of this community, and looking forward to learning!

LoveMyHerd

Cavy Slave