Where People & Piggies Thrive

Newbie or Guinea Guru? Popcorn in!

Register for free to enjoy the full benefits.
Find out more about the NEW, drastically improved site and forum!

Register

Midwest [Cage] Tips

NTavares21

Cavy Gazer
Im new to having a Guinea Pig and can't wait to get one! Trying to find a cost effective way to start off, I'm looking for a decent cage for fairly cheap and was buying my guinea pig at PetCo unless anyone could recommend a better place in the RI or Mass Area. thanks, Nic :)

dani_starr

Cavy Slave
Hi! Welcome to the site! :D

I can understand your excitement in getting a guinea pig, but it's much better to do research first and plan EVERYTHING out before you bring them home. Since you already are on here and asking questions, you are off to a good start so kudos to you! :)

To start off, please get two guinea pigs. Guinea pigs are social animals, who live in large groups in the wild. They are sad and lonely by themselves. Despite how much time a human can spend time with a guinea pig, they can't compare to another guinea pig. We can't play with, groom, snuggle, sleep with, etc our guinea pigs like another guinea would. Could you imagine living in a world where you only lived with one type of animal of another species, by yourself? You can't communicate with them, and you sleep alone, eat alone, and spend your entire life by yourself. It be a horribly life, wouldn't it? That's why you should get two guineas, because they NEED friends. If you only have space for one, or only want one, then you need to either A) adopt a syrian hamster instead, as they like to be kept singly or B) find a rescue that has a guinea pig who needs to be kept in a single cavy home (they are rare and in between, but occasionally there will be a guinea pig that the guinea pig rescue says needs to be kept in a single piggy home)