PDA

View Full Version : Whats your opinion on owning a Guinea Pig?

hallister
06-22-14, 05:02 pm
Hello! I am new to the forums, and basically the whole world of guinea pigs! My name is Halley, and I am a high-school student who is very interested in getting a Guinea Pig.

I have been researching Guinea Pigs for a long time, and I am still having my doubts about acquiring one. Here are my reasons why, as well as a bunch of questions I have that I hope someone can kindly answer for me! :)

I have owned many animals in the past, including 3 hamsters, a rabbit, a hedgehog, and multiple cats. We actually used to own 2 Guinea Pigs back in the day, but I don't really remember what they were like as I was quite young.

I haven't owned a pet now for over a year, and I miss having something who depends on me and in return gives my life some excitement, as I am not your typical teenager and quite boring, lol.

My last pet I owned was my hedgie, but we had to give her away because of her smell! Don't get me wrong, she was a joy to have and I loved her dearly and was very sad to see her go, but my mom just wouldn't let me keep her. She started off fine, and we had her for about half a year, but no matter how often I cleaned her cage, it always smelled terrible. I fully cleaned it every 3 days, and we used fleece bedding, but it began to stink up my room, eventually making the whole basement smell like a barn. And so, my mother made me give her away. This surprised me, because I had read that hedgehogs didn't smell as long as you kept on top of their cage. I had also used that care fresh bedding but it smelled even worse, that's why we switched to fleece.