Home | Forum | Photo Galleries | Upload Photos | Cages Store | CafePress Store | Testimonials | Search | About Us

Go Back   Guinea Pig Cages Forum > Discussions > The Kitchen
Register FAQ Members Chat Scheduled Chats Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

The Kitchen Pet Stores, Breeding & Showing . . .

Reply
Attention: Last reply in this thread was more than 33 Month(s) ago.
We strongly discourage bumping old threads without a reason.
It may result in a wheek or a poo notice, if inappropriate. Thank you.
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-19-05, 09:52 am
Susan9608's Avatar
Susan9608 Susan9608 is offline
Redundant Moderator
Join Date: Oct 04
Posts: 3,599
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 42
Thanked 867 Times in 297 Posts
http://www.savetoby.com/

This is truly one of the sickest things I have ever come across. Is there any way to have offensive, threatening things like this removed from the internet? Do you think PETA might be able to do anything about it? I am horrified that someone would find this amusing.

http://www.savetoby.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-05, 09:55 am
JEMZY JEMZY is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Feb 05
Location: stockport / manchester
Posts: 40
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

Oh my god, that is sick!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-05, 10:00 am
Susan9608's Avatar
Susan9608 Susan9608 is offline
Redundant Moderator
Join Date: Oct 04
Posts: 3,599
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 42
Thanked 867 Times in 297 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

I know. I sent the link to PETA, but I don't know what, if anything, they will say or do about it. Hopefully they will at least have suggestions of who I - we - could complain to about it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-05, 10:02 am
Smudger Smudger is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Oct 04
Posts: 110
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

http://urbanlegends.about.com/b/a/146890.htm

My first thought was 'hoax'. It's just an easy way of getting money and a shed load of free publicity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-05, 10:04 am
Susan9608's Avatar
Susan9608 Susan9608 is offline
Redundant Moderator
Join Date: Oct 04
Posts: 3,599
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 42
Thanked 867 Times in 297 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

I'm sure it is a hoax .... I didn't ever think it was real ... but it's a horrible thing to joke about. I don't think people should be allowed to extort money on the threat of animal abuse any more than they can extort money on the threat of child abuse.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-05, 10:10 am
Emily F.'s Avatar
Emily F. Emily F. is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Jun 04
Location: Vermont
Posts: 689
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

That's horrible. That just pisses me off. Excuse my language. People just do that for money. I just want to go save that little guy.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-05, 11:11 am
DocDolittle's Avatar
DocDolittle DocDolittle is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Nov 04
Location: Plonkerworld, the new happiest place on earth!
Posts: 1,751
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 10
Thanked 21 Times in 15 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

I don't even think it's the same rabbit in many pictures. There probably is no rabbit. It's just a way for some sick, perverted college student to rip people off by threatening to harm an animal that doesn't even exist. However, if this was about child abuse, it would probably be found and taken off the net. But animal abuse? Nah, that's not that big of a deal*sarcasm*. People with perverted minds like this severely disgust, and quite frankly, I think they should burn in hell. Pardon my french, but I feel very strongly that this should be removed from the internet. Yeah, it would probably be complained about as censorship, but I don't care.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-19-05, 11:35 am
Susan9608's Avatar
Susan9608 Susan9608 is offline
Redundant Moderator
Join Date: Oct 04
Posts: 3,599
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 42
Thanked 867 Times in 297 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

I think it should be removed, too.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-19-05, 12:18 pm
IzzaFred IzzaFred is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Jan 05
Location: Swansea, Wales, UK
Posts: 14
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

There's a similar one:
http://www.krohm.net/bernd2.htm
It says in tiny letters right at the bottom of the page "it's a joke" but I still find it sickening
[font=Kristen ITC]
[/font]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-19-05, 12:39 pm
VoodooJoint's Avatar
VoodooJoint VoodooJoint is offline
Fanatic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 04
Location: In dying New Orleans
Posts: 8,275
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 157
Thanked 1,393 Times in 411 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

I've just finished alerting Paypal.

I said "Saw this website. Probably a hoax but they do have an active Paypal account. They say they will kill a bunny if they do not get a $50,000.00 by June 30th. Please close their account to help stop all of the idiots out there from extorting money through these types of means. "

I included the website address so they could see it for themselves. Hopefully Paypal will close the account and automatically refund the money in the account to the people who foolishly sent it.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-19-05, 12:40 pm
carrotflavour's Avatar
carrotflavour carrotflavour is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Aug 04
Posts: 154
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

So obviously a joke....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-19-05, 12:44 pm
lindsey's boys's Avatar
lindsey's boys lindsey's boys is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Jul 04
Location: Earth
Posts: 855
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

You can tell the first picture in the gallery is fake. Come on, who did that person think they were fooling?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-19-05, 12:50 pm
VoodooJoint's Avatar
VoodooJoint VoodooJoint is offline
Fanatic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 04
Location: In dying New Orleans
Posts: 8,275
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 157
Thanked 1,393 Times in 411 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

I'm quite sure it is fake. The rabbit will be fine. What bothers me is that this person is using this twisted and stupid means to extort money.

Some people will believe it. Some will send money. The account balance he shows is probably fake but I bet there is some money in there from people foolish enough to believe it and the jerk that made the site doesn't deserve to be rewarded for his hoax.

On a side note I too saw that the "poor wet bunny" picture in the gallery was faked...just a wet rabbit, not rescued at all.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-05, 01:25 pm
joab97's Avatar
joab97 joab97 is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Dec 04
Location: PA
Posts: 109
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

I have a question? Where do you people find these sites? Just browsing?? I just wondered. As for that site...sick,,sick,,people,,even if it is just a hoax.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-19-05, 03:11 pm
bunnyluv17's Avatar
bunnyluv17 bunnyluv17 is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Jul 04
Posts: 519
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

There was another site called rabbit ransom and they actually stole pictures from other peoples' sites, so that is probably what this guy did.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-19-05, 04:07 pm
Susan9608's Avatar
Susan9608 Susan9608 is offline
Redundant Moderator
Join Date: Oct 04
Posts: 3,599
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 42
Thanked 867 Times in 297 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

I don't know where people find these sites ... my husband told me about this one. He knows what an animal person I am, so he knew I'd want to do something about it. Voodoojoint - what a great idea to alert PayPal. I never even thought of that. Good thinking!

Even as a joke, this kind of thing is not funny in the slightest ... it's not cute, it's not amusing ... it shouldn't exist. People would be in an uproar in someone posted something similar about a child ... why should it be different for a rabbit? Abuse is abuse.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-19-05, 04:18 pm
Piglet's Avatar
Piglet Piglet is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Apr 04
Location: London
Posts: 5,109
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

Gosh, I can't believe what people do for money. Its just sick and weird, but I'm pretty sure this guys got some money from the poor suckers that thought it was real. Thats the sick part
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-19-05, 07:12 pm
tenn38's Avatar
tenn38 tenn38 is offline
Cavy Slave
Join Date: Feb 05
Posts: 27
Thanks for that helpful post! given: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: http://www.savetoby.com/

Ugh, did you see the "uncooked rabbit" picture? Even if it is a hoax, you shouldn't have things like that up.

Another thing, if that is their pet rabbit, wouldn't you feel sick making a website about killing it? Or do you think it's someone else's picture? Either way, it's stupid.

There's another hoax like this called bonzai kittens, but it doesn't involve money. They have a website saying they put kittens into a bottle and feed them through a tube, and the cat never gets to move. People are so messed up these days.
Reply With Quote